Peach soup

Aug.30.11 § 4 Comments

As summer and Rawgust come to an end I am preparing for a new cuisine to share on my blog for a month. I’m in the middle of reading The China Study. If you aren’t familiar with it, it’s about the potential correlation between animal protein and cancer. While I am skeptical, it’s not leading me any closer to putting more meat on this blog, or in my body. Most of my recipes are already considered vegan, but I may make it more of a point to showcase the ease and enjoyment of eating a plant-based diet. I haven’t decided yet. I am also about to start my grad program, so there is a chance my blogging could taper off as I try to strike a balance with my new responsibilities.


But before any of that happens, I have this one final raw soup for you. It’s a great way to use up tomatoes and peaches, two things that seem to remain in high season. I got mine at the farmers market which, surprisingly, was open on Sunday after Hurricane Irene passed through the region. As soon as I heard they were open, I knew I had to reward their resilience and determination with my business. I picked up two sizable peaches, some small tangy tomatoes and a bunch of garlic chives that have proven extremely versatile.


This soup is so colorful that I surmise it must be really packed with vitamin C and antioxidants. According to The China Study, and I suppose it’s common knowledge these days, you can tell a food is rich in antioxidants if it is brightly colored. And it is brightly colored so we’ll be attracted to eating it because we do not produce antioxidants on our own. I particularly enjoyed the book’s passage about this. It said, “Whether you believe in God, evolution or just coincidence, you must admit that this is a beautiful, almost spiritual, example of nature’s wisdom.” I have to agree.

Peach soup

  • About 1.5 lbs peaches
  • 1 lb heirloom tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup raw cashews, soaked
  • 1/2 of a small white onion, chopped and soaked
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • fresh garlic chives, chopped, for garnish
  • olive oil and additional salt to taste
Directions
As with the gazpacho, you’re going to quarter, core, seed and chop the tomatoes. Throw them in the food processor with the peaches, also quartered, seeded and chopped. Toss in the clove of garlic, onions and the cashews and puree, in batches if necessary. Remove to a bowl. Stir in the salt. Refrigerate until chilled. Garnish with chives, olive oil and salt when serving.
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Peach soup

  • Robin Ellis says:

    Peachy!–I shall try it tomorrow–thanks Laura.
    Robin

  • polwig says:

    This sounds heavenly, love the peach and tomato combo. However I can’t seem to wonder how well it would taste with few pieces of dried prosciutto crumbs on top, sorry the evil meat person talking.

    • Laura says:

      Haha well I certainly can’t deny how delicious prosciutto is. I think you’re right, it would be good! Thanks for reading :)

  • Philosophical question re: “nature’s wisdom.” Do you sense any tension between the idea that we should eat beautiful food because it’s probably got a better nutritional value and the idea of eating local? I suspect that nature is not so well-organized that it isn’t more efficient to grow things where they grow, rather than where we happen to be. Unless the harmonization of those two ideas is “only eat what happens to be next to you,” which strikes me regressive in that it offends every evolutionary imperative. No doubt we could live in caves and wear only fronds that grow outside our caves, too, but we’d never create Pac-Man that way. Or is the harmonization to trust biology but mistrust the environment?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Peach soup at the soupbowl.

meta

