Raw Kale Salad

Aug.16.11 § 2 Comments

I have always wanted to eat kale raw. I really love kale – like, I worship it. See religious beliefs on my Facebook page. But everyone always seemed to discourage eating it raw, except for raw foodies. And then it seemed like raw kale salads were trending, and I was sad to have missed the boat. So now that I’m making raw recipes, this was one I had to try. And here it is, demystified.

There are several tricks to a good kale salad. One is to use a less bitter kale. I picked up some Tuscan blue kale at the farmers market. I would also recommend Siberian kale, also called red kale, if you can find it. The second trick is to massage the kale. Slice it up and then squeeze it in your hands to mix it with the dressing. This will help to soften it. Then, if you’re still not convinced you’ve gotten rid of enough bitterness, let it marinate over night in the dressing you massaged it with. After all this prodding, it should at least be ready to eat raw by morning! I made this salad with some dried cranberries to add sweetness just in case the bitterness needed to be balanced out. And I think it turned out great.

Kale salad with cranberries and raw pepitas

  • 1/4 cup raw pepitas
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1/4 lb. kale

Directions

Drop the cranberries and pepitas (pumpkin seeds) into the bottom of a bowl. Put the kale on top. Sprinkle with salt and drizzle with lemon juice. Massage with your hands for a few minutes until the salt and lemon juice is evenly distributed. Cover and refrigerate overnight. Eat for lunch the next day! If you’re not raw, I think this salad would do well with a sprinkling of some pungeant hard Italian cheese. It would also be great cooked as a winter side dish.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Raw Kale Salad

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Raw Kale Salad at the soupbowl.

meta

