Uncle Ed’s one pot chicken and stock

Jul.26.11 § 1 Comment

The first time I went to dinner at my Uncle Ed’s house, he put on a chicken. I was intrigued, having heard about the organic roaster chickens Whole Foods sells. With my aversion to conventional chicken, I had always wanted to try one. My interest in roasting a chicken was originally piqued by a recipe in Esquire magazine. It said all you had to do was toss the thing in the oven in a cast iron skillet. There was no way I could mess that up. But Uncle Ed’s method is even easier, and you get a bonus out of it — a bit of chicken stock. What could be better for a soup savant like myself? And it takes less than an hour on the stove. You don’t even have to turn on the oven. But until recently I just never got around to it. Then I felt a cold coming on and I knew what I had to do.

Additionally, I am in the middle of reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma. If you’ve read it, you know Rosie the Roaster Chicken makes a cameo in one of Michael Pollan’s four meals featured in the book. It reminded me I wanted to try a Rosie of my own. She only cost me about $10 at my Whole Foods. And I got so many meals out of it. Here is a recipe for the first. It’s so unbelievably easy and the yield is seemingly disproportionate to the work you put in. Those are the best kinds of meals, because it seems a little magic was involved.

Uncle Ed’s one pot chicken and stock

  • 1 roaster chicken, about 3-3.5 lbs
  • 1 head of celery, washed and chopped
  • 1 onion, roughly chopped
  • 6 carrots, scrubbed and chopped
  • 6 cloves of garlic (more or less to taste)
  • 1/4 cup crumbled dried mushrooms (optional)
  • A spice ball filled with 6 whole pepper corns and 6 all spice berries (optional, flavor with the herbs you prefer)
  • 1 qt water
  • salt and pepper
  • You will also need a Dutch oven and a meat thermometer

Directions

Put all the veggies and the spice ball in a 5 quart or larger Dutch oven. Wash the chicken and remove any little presents that may be left in the cavity. Rub salt and pepper all over the bird. Place on its bed of vegetables. Fill the Dutch oven with 1 qt of water, or enough to come up about 2 inches (more if you use a larger pot). Cover and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and cook 30 to 45 minutes until the chicken reaches an inner temperature of 165 degrees F. Let rest until cool enough to handle. Remove the chicken and set aside. Strain the stock. Chill overnight and skim off the fat before using or freezing. Now you’ve got a chicken for dinner and some stock for your next soup!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Uncle Ed’s one pot chicken and stock

  • Jamie-Lee says:

    Love the multiple pictures! Also this looks very yummy- I never thought of using a full chicken to make stock, I always thought it was a leftovers type thing. So smart that you can make stock out of it, while you’re cooking the chicken to be used for something else =]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Uncle Ed’s one pot chicken and stock at the soupbowl.

meta

