SO Cool Cucumber Soup

Jun.28.11 § 6 Comments

If you’re familiar with Turtle Mountain‘s products, you might realize right off the bat why the title of this post is a bit odd. I finally found the elusive mystery ingredient that had me on a wild goose chase last weekend. It’s their SO Delicious Original Cultured Coconut Milk. I wanted to use it to replace yogurt in what would otherwise be a traditional cold cucumber yogurt soup. Why? Why walk for miles (yes, I literally walked several miles looking for this stuff) around the city in desperate search of this silly thing? I’ll tell you why.

First of all, let me just say I have absolutely nothing against yogurt. I have two pints of plain greek yogurt in my fridge right now. But this product is technically kefir. And kefir is yogurt times two. It has at least double (if not more) healthy little probiotics swimming in it. It’s also a thinner, soupier consistency. And, since this kind is made with coconut milk, it’s a little sweet and completely vegan. Did I mention it really is SO Delicious? Ok. I’m in love with it. I’ll eat it drizzled over sliced bananas with a little honey for breakfast or just drink it straight from a glass. But enough of the sales pitch. Truth is, I have never been all too fond of cold soups, so I knew making one I would like would take a few special ingredients.

In addition to the cultured coconut milk, there is the quick-pickled radish salsa. It balances out the cool soup with a little bit of tart, spiciness. It also really brightens up the dish. If you really like the way radishes taste on their own, feel free to go without the pickling step. I only used it because radishes, well, they kind of bore me. But a little bit of cider vinegar and salt go a long way. Also, don’t be afraid to salt this soup. A tablespoon might seem like a lot, and cut it down if you want, but it really makes a difference in bringing the flavors together.

Cool Cucumber Soup with Radish Salsa

Serves 4

  • 2 lbs cucumber, peeled, seeded and roughly chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, pressed or minced
  • juice of 1 lemon – about 1/4 cup
  • 2 cups Cultured Coconut MilkĀ  (or yogurt, or regular kefir)
  • 1 T salt
  • 8-10 radishes, chopped
  • 1/4 cup packed snipped chives
  • 2 T apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions

First, place the radishes, salt, vinegar and chives in a bowl. Stir and let sit while you put together the soup.

Combine the cucumber, garlic, lemon juice and salt in a food processor or blender. Puree until smooth, in batches if necessary. Pour into a serving bowl and fold in the kefir.

Serve right away, garnished with a tablespoon or so of the radish mixture in the middle.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to SO Cool Cucumber Soup

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading SO Cool Cucumber Soup at the soupbowl.

meta

