Creamy chickpea broccoli soup

Jun.24.11 § 6 Comments

Based on my blogging habits, I’m sure it looks like I’ve got some sort of addiction to chickpeas. That might actually be true. I love my cecis. The real reason chickpeas are making an appearance on my blog yet again is purely convenience. A bag of dried chickpeas is a great fallback ingredient when something you were planning fell through. That’s exactly what happened here.

I had been planning a cold cucumber soup. But I have this bad habit of planning my recipes around one exotic, elusive ingredient without checking my local stores to make sure they have it. Being that I live in DC now, I have access to not only one Whole Foods, but two, among several health food stores. I thought I’d be able to find what I needed. I was wrong. So after a long walk sulk home, I had to look through the pantry items and figure out what I was going to eat for the next week. And then, the cecis spoke to me. Along with some broccoli from the freezer and a Mire-poix from the fridge. This recipe comes together easy and tastes comforting. It can be served hot or cold, the latter which may better suit your summer palette.

This soup, to me, tasted curiously like old school Cream of Broccoli soup. Yes, soup from a can. Sacrilege. But in the years since I started dabbling in vegetarianism, and now in raw foods, I really have fun taking whole foods and making them taste like things I ate as a kid. It’s the celery salt that does it here. If that’s not your thing, feel free to omit it. The broccoli and cecis shine deliciously on their own. Also feel free to omit the nutritional yeast. It is not meant to replace cheese, I just like the flavor. It rounded this soup out with a nutty savoriness.

Creamy chickpea broccoli soup

  • 1 cup dried chick peas, soaked
  • 1 T oil
  • 2 carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 2 celery ribs, peeled and sliced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 4 cups water
  • 1 Rapunzel vegan vegetable bouillon
  • 2 teaspoons celery salt
  • 1 tablespoon nutritional yeast
  • 1 lb broccoli (fresh or frozen)

Directions

Drain chick peas and set aside.

Heat a large, heavy-bottom pot or Dutch oven on medium low. Add the oil, onions, carrots and celery. Cook until soft. Add garlic and nutmeg. Stir and cook for just a moment more. Add the water, chick peas and bouillon. Bring to a boil, then simmer for about 30-45 minutes until chickpeas are cooked. Fold in the celery salt, nutritional yeast and broccoli. If you are using fresh broccoli, continue to cook until it is soft. Turn off the heat and let the soup cool. Puree in a food process or blender until smooth. Serve hot or cold with additional broccoli as garnish.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Creamy chickpea broccoli soup

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Creamy chickpea broccoli soup at the soupbowl.

meta

