Heidi’s Ultimate Chick Pea Noodle

May.30.11 § 6 Comments

It’s been more than a month since my last post! Insert typical blogger’s remorse/apologies here. Where have I been? Nowhere special, really, just home in DC and visiting Philly as usual. But the past month or so has been filled with a lot of to-do’s. Turning 25, for one. Celebrating it several times. And with the coming of a new age, thwarting a quarter life crisis by propelling myself into a whirlwind of new experiences.

I’ve joined a group called The Global Language Network where I do some communications work in exchange for free language classes. Aside from being a great opportunity to learn, it’s a great opportunity to meet other internationally-interested folks in DC. Check them out. I’ve been helping with some content on their website. Doing online media work with the GLN got me thinking that the old food blog here isn’t where I want it to be. So I got us on Twitter. TheSoupBowl tweets, and its an absolute hailstorm of foodie news. You can find it in the top right corner of the home page or follow me @soupbowltweets. That has been a fun and extremely addicting new addition to my life. The to-do list did not end there. This month I also created an online portfolio for myself. If you want to know more about the mysterious soup-obsessed Laura D, visit my new site. I took that site and a bunch of other junk about myself (i.e., my transcripts and a statement of purpose into which I poured blood, sweat, and tears) and turned it into an application to American University’s Interactive Journalism masters program. Finally, right? I’ve only been talking about it for two years. Wish me luck! Scratching that off the list wiped my to-do list clean for May, and there were only a few days left in the month which I’ve been spending with family.

Somewhere in there I managed to make this soup that I had been eyeing on Heidi Swanson’s blog for quite some time. If you know me, you know I’m a bit obsessed with chick pea noodle soups. The simplicity of Heidi’s recipe, gleaned from a trip to Italy, is what made it a must-try. And it did not disappoint. Had I not smothered it in cheese, it would have been vegan. And for being almost vegan, it was surprisingly chickeny! I don’t know why — perhaps it was the Rapunzel bouillon’s palm oil base mixed with the beany flavor of freshly simmered chick peas. What I do know is that it’s absolutely delicious, simple to assemble and cheap to make. I’ll be making this soup again for sure. Thanks Heidi! If you don’t know about Heidi Swanson, you have to check out her blog or pick up one of her books. Her photography is gorgeous and her recipes are innovative takes on eating whole foods.

Heidi’s Ultimate Chick Pea Noodle

  • 2 cups dried chick peas, soaked
  • 4 cups water
  • 1 cube Rapunzel vegan vegetable unsalted bouillon
  • 1 package papardelle
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • Parmesan and red pepper flakes (optional)

Directions:

Soak the dried beans in cold water for 4-8 hours or overnight. Drain, rinse and add to a soup pot with the water and bouillon. Simmer for 30-45 minutes until beans are tender. Meanwhile, boil water for the noodles. When the noodles are cooked, drain and set aside about 1/3 of them. Add the rest to the soup when it’s finished. Fry the reserved noodles in the olive oil until crisp. Reserve the oil and remove the noodles, draining on paper towels. Sprinkle immediately with cheese and red pepper flakes, if using. Add the olive oil to the soup and taste the broth. Season accordingly. Serve and garnish bowls of this amazingly chickeny vegetarian soup with the crunchy, cheesy fried noodles. If you prefer to make it vegan, omit the cheese.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Heidi’s Ultimate Chick Pea Noodle

  • I love this recipe and I think the noodles must really make it. It’s so simple too!

  • pamamom says:

    This sounds so delicious. I think I am going to make this with the raw zucchini instead of the noodles.

  • Jamie-Lee says:

    I love Heidi! She’s so awesome.
    I also really like your blog but wish you would update more frequently!! Maybe weekly? =] Just a thought.
    Oh, also I have a very good soup recipe on my blog that you might like to try: http://thegirlwriter.blogspot.com/2011/01/carrot-and-tomato-soup.html

    • Laura says:

      Thanks for the encouragement Jamie-Lee. I would love it if I updated more often, too! Sometimes life just gets in the way. June will be better with all that STUFF out of the way. And thanks for the link. Is the soup very carroty? I’d like to try it, maybe put my own twist on it ;) I’ll be sure to give you a shout when I do!

  • Bobby Schaller says:

    Hey there Laura, this site’s souper cool! Don’t know if you caught it but Ray Ramano got all teary eyed talking about soup recently on the Letterman show. Pretty good stuff, gotta try this chick pea recipe. Just had a bangin’ caribou stew to speak off. Anyways. peace – Bobby Schaller

    • Laura says:

      Bobby!! Hi! Thanks for visiting my blog. I did not know that about Ray Ramano but now I’ve got to track down a clip. Hope you’re well!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Heidi’s Ultimate Chick Pea Noodle at the soupbowl.

meta

