Dandelion pesto

Apr.09.11 § 2 Comments

What can I say about pesto? It’s quick and easy. You can make it even if you’ve never successfully cooked anything but macaroni and cheese and hot dogs. You can up the health factor by adding different greens. You can change the nuts if you don’t like pignoles, change the cheese if you want a sharper contrast or something more mellow than parmesan, or change the oil if olive oil isn’t your thing. I know, that’s not traditional. But it still tastes good.

In addition to its adaptability being endless, you can serve pesto in an unlimited amount of ways. If you have an affinity for greens, maybe you’ll want to try this recipe as much as I did. And maybe you’ll love it as much as I do. I worried the dandelions would be too bitter, but I am pleasantly surprised by the wonderful flavor here.

I’ve adapted a recipe from David Lebovitz. I used raw cashews because I just always keep them on hand. They are my nut of choice, and my favorite nut for their unbeatable sweetness and creaminess. You probably noticed, if you read my Raw Cashew Pesto post last April, or my Vegan Tomato Bisque made with white beans and cashew butter. Like I said before, when making pesto there’s no need to measure, just toss in a handful of everything. These measures are approximate.

While I have been craving basil, I think dandelions are just the right green to usher in spring veggies.

Dandelion Pesto

Adapted from http://www.DavidLebovitz.com

March 15, 2011

1 bunch dandelion greens

About 1/4 cup raw cashews

3 big cloves of garlic

About 1/4 cup parmesan

Olive oil

Directions

Wash the dandelion leaves extra well. They tend to be quite full of dirt. Then cut the leaves away from those tough stems. I didn’t want them in my pesto. Toss the leaves in a food processor with a drizzle of olive oil and pulse a few times. Then add the rest of the ingredients and whir to perfection while streaming olive oil until you reach the desired consistency (a paste). Serve with pasta, on spring veggies, spread on Italian bread, or just have a spoonful straight out of the food processor. You know you want to.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Dandelion pesto

  • Julia Pellizzer says:

    Will try this recipe this weekend if I can find the dandelion greens. I’ll use toasted walnuts and walnut oil as I am allergic to olives and olive oil. Probably use Regianno Parmagiana as the cheese as I already have it on hand! Thank you for the recipe. Cheers!

  • Sweet Artichoke says:

    This is such an innovative pesto! I feel so boring to eat dandelion only in salads and soups! Pesto is simply a brilliant idea!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dandelion pesto at the soupbowl.

meta

