Cooking for One: Christmas spaghetti

Jan.08.11 § 2 Comments

I know. Christmas is over. It’s long gone, actually. But, perhaps because I moved into my apartment right in the midst of the holiday and spent several of my first nights here listening to Christmas carols and knitting, I just can’t shake the spirit! The new apartment was the best Christmas gift I could have ever given myself. And boy, did I work hard for it. The rewards just keep on coming, such as time spent in the tiny kitchen and results like this.

Here is my dinner from last night. The only things Christmas-y are the colors: vibrant green kale and bright red roasted peppers. It would make a lovely side dish for a holiday meal. It’s also just a quick and easy recipe that fits well under the category of Cooking for One that I instituted in this blog shortly after I started it. This time, I even had a time limit. My laundry was drying in the basement and the dryers take 45 minutes. Dinner was done and there was time to eat before I had to fold my towels.

Yes, it took me 30 minutes to make and only 10 minutes to eat. I was really hungry, okay? And I’m a hoover-er to begin with. But when you live in a city and walk everywhere, and carry your groceries six blocks uphill before you can even cook them — let alone sit down and eat — you work up quite the appetite. I’m certainly not complaining though. I really enjoy the exercise, the more active lifestyle and the ability to get everywhere I want to go with my own two feet.

Christmas-colored spaghetti

Ingredients (makes 2 servings)

¼ c water

2 handfuls washed, torn kale

2 T olive oil

1 clove garlic, minced

Roasted red peppers (use jarred and you can just use the oil from the jar)

A couple splashes (maybe 2 or 3 T) white wine

About 1/3 cup cooked chick peas

¼ of a box of whole wheat spaghetti

Salt and pepper

Cheese for serving (optional)

Directions:

Set a pot of salted water on high to boil the spaghetti.

In a large skillet with a cover, steam the kale in the water with the lid ajar until the leaves are bright green. Remove from the heat, drain excess water, remove kale from skillet and set aside. Return the skillet to medium-low heat. Add the oil and garlic. Sauté for a minute or two. Add the peppers and stir. Splash the wine in the skillet to deglaze, then return the kale to the pan. Salt, toss and heat until all the liquid has evaporated. Add chick peas and cook until heated through and the pasta is done.

Drain the pasta. Toss the pasta and veggies in a bowl. Plate and top with grated cheese.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Cooking for One: Christmas spaghetti

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cooking for One: Christmas spaghetti at the soupbowl.

meta

