Julie and Julia Bruschetta

Aug.25.10 § 2 Comments

If you have seen the movie Julie and Julia, there’s no way you could forget the bruschetta scene. Amy Adams and Chris Messina crunch heartily into the crispy bread, piled high with juicy tomatoes flecked by shards of basil. My mouth waters every time I think about it. According to this New York Times article about the movie’s food styling, Messina had to bite into that dreamy bruschetta 36 times! Oh, what a terrible, terrible day on the set.

If you’re like me, you went home and Googled the recipe to try and find out what exactly they were eating. Fried bread? No way. Actually yes. Yes way. And that is the very best part. The bread is crispy on the outside and still soft inside. It gushes oil when you bite into it. The tomatoes are juicy. They are hard to keep on the bread and a direct delivery from hand to mouth is unlikely on the first try. It’s not something you can eat while being neat, but the messiness adds something to the experience.

When I got to Googling, I found the rough recipe instructions in this article. And then I became obsessed. The ingredients are simple and cheap. I started frying bread with olive oil. Then, the next night I tried it in butter. Each is delicious, but they are different, to my taste buds at least. The butter leaves the bread slightly sweeter. I prefer to use olive oil. Either way it’s not exactly the healthiest of dinners. But if your kitchen is abundant with fresh summer tomatoes, why not live off something so absolutely delicious? Oh boy, did that hit the spot.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Julie and Julia Bruschetta

  • Dustin says:

    You finally made it!

  • Lisa says:

    WOW. After I watched that movie, I immediately strapped Cass in her carseat and drove to the store to buy the ingredients. Seeing that bread sizzling away in the pan really jump-started my salivary glands…mmm! i want some right now!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Julie and Julia Bruschetta at the soupbowl.

meta

