A summer salad

Jul.14.10 § 2 Comments

You may call me the Phantom Foodie. I’ve been lurking around cyberspace, reading recipes, making lists of foods I’ll make when I can cook like a normal person again. Who knows when I’ll be back with another post, so get it while it’s hot.

I got this recipe from Elena’s Pantry. I used a variety of heirloom tomatoes and didn’t change a thing. It’s simply fabulous, like all of her recipes. See it here and try it with some fresh, local produce. Speaking of local produce, if you live in Salisbury, Md., check out this organic farm. They just got their USDA certification this year and have such a variety. I’m working on a story about them now for The Daily Times. Check the newspaper’s website this weekend to read it.

On the same day I emerged from cooking hiatus — a sad world of canned soups, quick sandwiches and the more-than-occasional stop at Taco Bell — for one brief, beautiful stint in the kitchen (not mine, obviously, because I don’t have one right now) I also whipped up a batch of old faithful. I summer-ized it with the juice of half a lemon and handfuls of fresh basil. Oh, what a comfort.

Don’t give up on me. The bowl will be back. Someday.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to A summer salad

  • Jeannette says:

    This looks wonderful! I have a longtime friend who also has an organic farm near Salisbury, but his is between Berlin and the beach. You should check IT out sometime, too. I think it’s called Trappe Creek Farm or something like that. Don’t know what he’s growing, but if it’s organic, it HAS to be good!!

    • Laura says:

      Haha well Jeannette if its called Trappe Creek Farm then that’s my Dad you’re talking about. You’re a longtime friend of his eh?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A summer salad at the soupbowl.

meta

