Sugar cookie win

Feb.11.10 § Leave a comment

I first tried my hand at home baking on a snowy Jan. 30. Most people wouldn’t call it a fail. In fact, ALL the cookies I made got eaten, even the burnt ones I brought to work. But I am a perfectionist. That crap just doesn’t fly around here. Yesterday, another snowy day, I finally had the time to try my revised recipe.

Perfection.

Well, for someone like me at least. I like chewy, sugary, buttery cookies. What’s the secret? Extra butter, of course. Add extra in case you lose some along the way, while creaming, which is an extremely important process. Read this great NY Times article about the importance of properly softened and creamed butter. But because of the extra butter, this is not the type of cookie dough you can roll out and cut. Perhaps if you chilled it for a couple hours but it might still be too buttery. I didn’t try, I was going to for instant gratification.

The recipe is pretty standard, it’s just low on flour and high on butter. I can’t take credit for any genius here, I’m just excited I’ve finally found a cookie recipe I can make from scratch that meets my personal cookie expectations.

And now I’ll share my secret recipe, even though I really shouldn’t if it’s a secret. Whatever!

Chewy sugar cookies

1/2 cup (1 stick) plus 3 tbsps butter, softened

1 1/3 cups flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp baking powder

3/4 cup sugar

A pinch of salt

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp almond extract

1/2 an egg (yes, HALF an egg, meaning all the white and a tiny bit of the yolk)

Makes about two dozen, can be doubled

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cream the butter and sugar. In a separate bowl mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. In another small prep bowl, beat the egg with the extracts. Add the egg mixture and creamed butter (1/2 cup at a time) to flour while mixing. You may need to finish with your hands.

On a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, form 6 small balls of dough and space evenly apart. Your balls should be about one tablespoon-worth of dough. You may want to moisten your hands to roll the balls. Press down a little on the top if you want to add sprinkles, otherwise just stick in the over for about 6 minutes. Cool on a rack and enjoy.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sugar cookie win at the soupbowl.

meta

