Soup No. 13: Crock pot cabbage

Jan.24.10 § 2 Comments

This is the best cabbage soup you will ever taste.
I know, that’s quite a claim. But I’m pretty confident in this savory recipe, slow-cooked all day to make the cabbage melt in your mouth. It has mixed veggies, Lima beans for protein, a seasoned tomato broth and Mineral Broth in the background for your health. It makes a huge batch with hardly any effort. It’s really a perfect winter soup.

I remembered recently that I own a 5 Qt. crock pot. It’s been stashed in the bottom of my pantry since I moved. In recent years I’ve barely used it. I used to bust out it all the time to make spaghetti squash until I later learned baking spaghetti squash makes it taste a lot nuttier and sweeter. The thing I liked about the crock pot — likely what everyone likes about slow cooking — is the ease.
Saving time is like saving money. Even when I’m doing something l enjoy as much as cooking, I feel like I should be being a bit more productive. Throwing all these ingredients in the crock pot in the morning and having a meal ready when you come home feels really good. Although, if you’re terrible in the morning (like me) be careful. Do most of the prep work the night before. Otherwise it may lead to catastrophe, which I still didn’t manage to avoid completely. But aside from spilling mixed vegetables all over the kitchen floor, the soup turned out amazing.

Crock pot cabbage soup

*Note: This recipe is for a 5Qt crock pot. If your crock pot is smaller, adjust the recipe accordingly, for example, use 15 oz cans of tomatoes, 2 cups vegetable broth and only half the bag of mixed veggies.
1 onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, 2 minced and 1 left whole
1 bag frozen mixed vegetables, I used a mix of green beans, peas, carrots and corn
2 cups frozen Lima beans
1 28 oz can diced tomatoes
1 28 oz can crushed tomatoes
4 cups vegetable broth
1 half head of cabbage, sliced
2 bay leaves
1 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp dried, ground thyme

Prep work like dicing the onions, mincing the garlic and slicing the cabbage can be done the night before. In the morning, throw everything into the crock pot, in no particular order. Set on low for eight hours. Come home from work and enjoy! You can serve this with Romano cheese, it mixes with the tomato broth for a creamy, delicious alternative.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Soup No. 13: Crock pot cabbage

  • Brendan says:

    Hi Laura,

    I saw you posting links to this from Facebook, so I wanted to see what your blog was about. I made this soup yesterday and it was incredibly good, thanks for sharing.

    And, you were definitely right about the “huge batch” part. I’ve got enough to last me for the week. It should be noted, too, that you may need more than one crock pot for this recipe. I thought I had a standard size pot, but I guess not, because I needed to pull in my second, smaller one to hold the rest.

    Anyway, I can’t recommend this recipe enough (I’ve already shared your link with a bunch of friends). I love cabbage, tomatoes, garlic, and thyme, and this balances those flavors perfectly. Slow cooking all day filled my whole place with those great aromas. It’s also really healthy. I plan on trying another recipe soon.

    Thanks.

    • thesoupbowl says:

      Brendan,
      I’m really glad you enjoyed this soup. And thanks for the edit, I added it to the post. I use a 5 Qt. crock pot. I used to have a smaller one so I don’t know how I could forget to mention the size in the recipe. Anyway, I’ve got another slowcooker recipe to post this week so I hope you’ll try it.
      Thanks so much for reading and passing the link along!
      Best,
      Laura

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Soup No. 13: Crock pot cabbage at the soupbowl.

meta

