Poor Girl’s Minestrone

Nov.24.09 § 3 Comments

Minestrone is a classic Italian soup, although what it is specifically, exactly, precisely, I don’t know. Everyone has their own recipe. Everyone’s grandmother has her own recipe. We probably all learned it from our grandmothers. Except that’s not true. I learned mine from Olive Garden. Rather, I was a vegetarian working at Olive Garden for a brief stint and that was one of the things I ate most. One day I put what ingredients I thought would go into a minestrone together, and it worked!

This is a variation of a minestrone recipe I made when I had a random assortment of ingredients: some leftover kale, half a box of alphabet pasta, carrots, scallions, beans and Parmesan cheese. It’s about making do with what you have, or as they say on Project Runway, making it work. The good thing about it is, it doesn’t taste like it was made by somebody with empty pockets.

Poor Girl’s Minestrone

2 tbsp olive oil

1 large onion, diced
4 to 6 carrots, peeled and sliced
1 medium or 2 small zucchini, sliced and quartered
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp dried ground thyme
2 tsp oregano
1 bunch of greens (in the soup pictured, I used baby Italian Chard)
1 28 oz can diced tomatoes
1 qt vegetable broth
1 15 oz can white beans

1 15 oz can kidney beans
1/4 lb small soup pasta
Parmesan for serving

Directions
In a medium sauce pan, boil the water for the pasta. I cook them separately so they don’t suck up the broth.
Heat a large pot or dutch oven on medium heat. Add the oil once the pot is heated. Sweat the onions for a bit and then drop in the carrots and zucchini and continue cooking for about 7 minutes. Add the garlic and seasonings, stir. Add the diced tomatoes and the vegetable broth. Let the soup come to a boil, then turn down the heat to a simmer and add the greens. Cook until wilted and then add the beans and warm until heated through. Drain the pasta and add it to the soup. Serve sprinkled with parmesan.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Poor Girl’s Minestrone

  • Nancy D'Alessandro says:

    Sounds good! Do you put oil in the pot for the veggies or just use the stock?

    • lovesoundsbeta says:

      I do use olive oil, I forgot and just added it in the recipe. I pretty much always use oil or earth balance because its too tasty for me to live without :)

      • Nancy D'Alessandro says:

        Same…I like Eath Balance too! Regarding other oils, I learned that avocado oil is great for baking as it imparts a buttery flavor. :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Poor Girl’s Minestrone at the soupbowl.

meta

