Joyful Cream of Mushroom

Nov.06.11 § 4 Comments

Here is an example of when I take a perfectly good, simple recipe and make it 10 times more complicated. I found this comforting recipe over at Joy the Baker‘s blog. Mushrooms are one of my favorite foods and I’ve been trying a lot of vegan recipes lately, so I had to try this one – with my own twist. More mushrooms. Different nuts. A strip of kombu. Add some miso. A splash of wine, a dash of thyme. Viola!

It was so good. Joy is right, this is a great winter go-to. I ate THREE bowls. If only I’d had some bread. Hope this holds you over ’til I can blog again!

I sliced these lovely mushies with my new mandoline. It was a gift from my Mommy. It’s a gift that will be put to very good use. And don’t worry. It has a guard and I will try not to cut any fingers off.

Vegan Cream of Mushroom Soup
Adapted from Joy the Baker
2 T Earth Balance
2 large shallots, chopped
3 cloves garlic, chopped
1/2 t dried ground thyme
3 T white wine
1 lb white button mushrooms, sliced
1/2 lb baby bellas, sliced
4 cups vegetable broth
1 T soy sauce
A 2 inch strip of kombu
Freshly ground black pepper (at least a tsp)
1/4 c dried porcini mushrooms
1 cup boiling water
1/2 c brazil nuts
1 t barley miso paste
1/2 c water

Directions
Boil the 1 cup of water and soak the dried mushrooms. Soak the nuts in some cool water while you are preparing the other ingredients.
Heat the Earth Balance, or whatever oil you prefer, in a soup pots. Cook the shallots until soft then add the garlic. Cook for a moment more, then add the thyme, stir and deglaze with the wine. Add the sliced mushrooms and cook until they have released their liquid. Add the broth, dried mushrooms and their soaking liquid, soy sauce, kombu and pepper and bring to a simmer. Turn off the heat and blend in the pot with an immersion blender or, if using a stand blender, cool completely and blend in batches.
Drain the nuts and put in a blender with 1/2 cup water and the miso paste. Liquefy. Add the creamy mixture to the soup.
Serve garnished with olive oil and more pepper to taste.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Joyful Cream of Mushroom

  • RONICAAAAA says:

    When I added your blog to my Reader the other day, I didn’t read any full posts. I skimmed and scanned, checking out photos and reading titles. I was so glad to see that you have posted since then and SO glad the first recipe I read was about mushrooms! I LOVE MUSHROOMS. I could eat them everyday, and also love to cook with them. This sounds delicious and easy, even with the complications added! Thanks sugar, this is going in the archives for later use. I love that you have a food blog…so cool

  • Joy the Bakers is one of my favorite blogs. keep up the good work, looks warm and cozy!

  • Oh dear… this recipe sounds so good! I’ll definitely have to try it out! :D

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Joyful Cream of Mushroom at the soupbowl.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

